(c’89-91) – Toby Hounsham (keyboard), Tom Attah (drums), Paul Flannery (bass) and Rupert Middleton, aka Richard Douglas (vocals/guitar).

Woking based The Hype released “The Disco Revolution” demo cassette in ’89, which carried six tracks: the quirkily spelt “Foetus and Chips”, “Television Girl”, “Time”, “Hey Girl”, “Disco Revolution”, and “Wine and Roses”. Prior to The Hype, Douglas had recorded a number of solo songs; some of these, notably “Time” and “Television Girl”, were assimilated into The Hype’s material.

The band made regular appearance locally, notably at The George, Ash Vale. They also secured a slot in the ABC Music sponsored Showcase ’89 at the Civic Hall, Guildford with The Extremes, Calamity Sax, Wise Child, The Ha Ha Men, Forrest and The Choppers; Bitter Sweet, and Screw Loose.

Their track “Wasting Time”, which didn’t appear on “The Disco Revolution” was included on Flat Records’ “Get This!” compilation LP released in ’89. Hype opened the Ballroom Blitz and were once described as a ‘poor man’s Doors’. The band split in January 1991. Post demise, The Farnborough Groove Vol.1 compilation cassette released in ’91, closing out Side 1 with the band’s “Wasting Time”.

In around ’91 or ’92, after The Hype, Hounsham and Douglas formed an electronic duo called Soft Watches. Hounsham became the keyboard player with The Stranglers in 2021, and has worked with Rialto (c’97-’00) and Mungo Jerry (c’98 onwards). He is also a qualified music therapist.